Why don’t more weddings have a videographer?

I have to admit, I am a little biased. But, I am biased because I believe so much in what I do. Now, I’m not talking about those weddings that truly are on a budget; even though I think there are solutions there too.
But, I see postings on facebook from these elaborate big budget weddings, amazing locations, intricately choreographed first dances. With no videographer. And I have to wonder why. Here’s why.
Pereception.
Our industry started off on the wrong foot. Completely. Technology required us back in the day to carry huge cameras and lights. Tradition held that we should interview the guests and get well wishes to the bride and groom. We got excited about our new editing platforms and used all of the slomo, fancy fonts, and transitions it could provide. Generally videos used to be 45 minutes to 2.5 hrs long! The perception is that they would be watched once and put on the shelf…
Well, in most cases, those days are long gone.
Today’s wedding videographers are more like filmmakers than days of old. New technolgy allows us to get out of the way, to observe what’s happening around us, and primarily to tell a story beautifully. Gone are the days of the boring long form wedding video. Modern videos are exciting, personal, and most importantly; watchable.
After the wedding I hear our brides say that the video becomes one of the most important things they did. I hear them say that they weren’t going to do it for one reason or another, but watching one changed their mind. There aren’t alot of videographers in the Columbia area, but we have some of the best in the nation. I would say to all prospective brides; consider it. Meet with a few videographers. Find a place in your budget. It could be the best thing you do for your wedding.

http://www.vimeo.com/18577982

2 thoughts on “Why don’t more weddings have a videographer?

Leave a Reply

